A Hospital Adventure

hospital-908436_960_720

One thing about autism is how children can surprise parents with their ability to cope in stressful situations. This isn’t to say that this is always the case, it’s just that sometimes those situations which we presume will go badly, actually go really well. The other week was one such experience when The Boy had his MRI scan..

Earlier in the week, Eldest Boy and his girlfriend sent ‘Brian’ via owl post to keep The Boy company during his scan which was so thoughtful. The school also did their bit and allowed him to take the class mascot, ‘Hooty’ to hospital with him for morale.

IMG_1322

‘Brian’

The day started well. The Boy was in a good mood and cooperative which is a plus because a cooperative child always makes life a bit easier. Armed with our knowledge of what was to come we made our way to the children’s ward in one of the local hospitals.

Before the scan, The Boy spent half an hour with a play-worker who took him through what would happen in a child-friendly manner using pictures and toys specially designed for the MRI scan.

IMG_1330

The Boy and his play-worker.

Having the play-worker there really helped to take the pressure of us. The Boy was interested in the toys, especially a mini MRI room that looked exactly how it does in real life!

IMG_1335

MRI scanner Lego stylee. Cool, no?

Spending time in the play-room made me realise just how important play is when caring for children in hospitals. Hospitals can be frightening places for any child – let alone one who is autistic – but a friendly face and a bit of distraction goes a long way to allay some of those fears that come with unfamiliar environments.

Next it was time to go to go for the scan. The play-worker came with us and chatted away to The Boy throughout the MASSIVELY long walk to the MRI department. This was the hardest part of the day as he had to wait for an hour for his turn. The lady in front of him took a lot longer than normal. It wasn’t ideal for us but it was beyond our control so we just had to do our best to keep him distracted. He was relatively OK while there was only one other person waiting but meltdown threatened when five people came in at once and he soon began rolling about on the floor making his ‘noises’ and shouting, ‘I’M BOOOORRRRED!’ at the top of his voice. Thankfully we only had to wait ten more minutes before he was called in.

IMG_1337

Hooty sits it out..

IMG_1338

…while Brian takes a ride in a JCB.

The play-worker and I went in with him. Again, The Boy flabergahsted me with how well he tolerated the situation. He dived on the bed making the technician laugh out loud. He likes hospital beds because they move up and down. When the technician pressed the button to raise the bed up, The Boy squealed in delight like it was the best thing ever! His head was secured and he was given a pair of headphones with a choice of some music to listen to. We were also given ear defenders to deafen the noise from the machine. There was a mirror on The Boy’s head ‘contraption’ so that he could see us and once he was settled – the adventure began.

I’ve had an MRI scan before but, as I said, I don’t remember it cus I was completely off my face on morphine so this was relatively a new experience for me too. People have said it’s loud and it was incredibly loud but I also thought it was a bit like listening to experimental music – sort of Kraftwerk meets Slipknot? Or maybe that’s just me…

We stood either side of the bed and stroked The Boy’s legs. He gave us a double thumbs up so I knew he was OK. Sometimes he moved his head about so I gave him my mummy frown and wagged my finger. When he kept still, I smiled and stuck my thumb up. He called out, ‘I LOVE YOU MUMMY!’ and in that moment I don’t think it was possible to love him anymore that I already did..

Twenty minutes later it was all over.

Once he was free of all the MRI regalia I told him how amazingly well he’d done and he said very matter-of-factly, ‘ Yeah, I pretended I was a spaceman’.

My little boy, who only this morning had had a complete meltdown over getting dressed for school, took this major experience and made it work for him. This is the wonderment of autism, folks.

The play-worker walked us back to the children’s ward and then she went off to make another child’s day a little bit brighter. It must be an incredibly rewarding job and I know ours was definitely less stressful because of her support.

Our trip ended in the hospital cafe with a well earned hot chocolate and cake. I looked around me and reminded myself that hospitals may well be full of people who are really ill but it’s not all about sickness and death. The children’s ward is a happy place – a positive place. It’s just my ingrained memories of old fashioned hospitals that cloud my perception. I know that should The Boy ever need another scan he won’t be afraid because hes done it and it was a positive experience.

I couldn’t be prouder of my little spaceman.

Sons, Sand & Sauvignon

 

A Bit Of Everything

 

23 thoughts on “A Hospital Adventure

  1. I already knew what a star he’d been but reading about it again makes me realise what a huge deal it was, and just how well he did.

    I know that play workers have been wonderful for our kids. They make all the difference πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t actually put into words how pleased and amazed at how well things went for you all on the day of the MRI. Maybe your mum was up there put the spaceman thoughts in his little head because it could have been a whole different ball game had he not been compliant. It could of been one of those days that go from bad to worse but no, he was a SUPERSTAR🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
    Thank goodness for the play worker, hospital Drs are so high profile in the news at the moment and it’s to easy to overlook so many unsung heros within the nhs. Without ALL staffing, no hospital would manage to work and survive but mention a hospital and staff most people would picture Drs & nurses.
    Lastly but no least, you Tracy have to take credit for getting your little man through his MRI, I’m thinking it was probably more of an ordeal for you than it was him on the day. I know you don’t like being out of your comfort zone but you were there, every step of the minute, giving him your strength and support for what can and is a very alien environment, 3 cheers to you, you lovely lady!
    Big loves and kisses and a well deserved pint πŸ˜˜πŸ’‹πŸΊ xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks lovely, I think preparing him for it in advance helped as well. Things are not so scary if you know what’s going to happen. I’d love to think that his Nan whispered that suggestion to him. What a lovely thought. πŸ™‚ xxxxxxx

      Like

  3. So you should be. Sometimes it’s amazing how well they deal with things when you fear the worst.
    I had to take our youngest for a scan on his throat. I was a bag of nerves. He saw it as an adventure. Does make you appreciate just how wonderful the NHS nurses can often be, especially in the children’s wards.
    My only disappointment was that I didn’t also get a sticker afterwards. I was very brave too!?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I bet that was such a relief! It’s always the way that the things we’re sure will send them into meltdown are often fine and then we’re caught out by something we didn’t even consider might be a problem. I love the fact the play worker had a mini MRI and everything. Such a simple and obvious thing but wouldn’t have occurred to me. I might have to play through moving house with Tyger’s toys to help him understand.

    #SpectrumSunday

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a lovely post – You should be proud of your spaceman. I can just imagine what you must have felt when he said “I love you Mummy”. The Lego toy re-enactment is such a great idea! It’s wonderful how a positive experience can change one’s whole perspective. Thanks for sharing with #abitofeverything

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Spectrum Sunday #16 - Sons, Sand & Sauvignon

Leave a Reply

