Yours Mentally

Three days ago I stood outside my local cafe and hesitated before I opened the door.

‘Just sodding well go in, you loon!’ I bollocked myself.

I walked in and sat down at my usual table and within minutes the cafe owner was at my side, notepad in hand.

“Nice to see you! What can I get for you?”

‘Tea and toast please’

Five minutes later I was drinking my tea and was overcome with a sense of achievement.

I sent OH a text..

In the cafe. ON MY OWN! *smiley face*

I’ll forgive you for thinking ‘what on earth is the idiot on about now?’ but what if I was to tell you that it was the first time in over 12 months that I had been in ANY cafe on my own?

Being autistic, going into any public places requires effort due to my sensory and social issues but this post isn’t about my autism, not directly anyway.

The anxiety which has shadowed me from birth morphed into Panic Disorder in 2014, then General Anxiety Disorder and after three years of my body being constantly flooded with stress hormones, I had a nervous breakdown.

Definition: A nervous or mental breakdown is a term used to describe a period of intense mental distress. During this period, you’re unable to function in your everyday life.

At the peak of my illness,  I visited my GP ten times, A&E twice and the out of hours GP service twice – this was in a period of two weeks. EACH time I was convinced I would be admitted to hospital. EACH time, I was told it was anxiety.

When it came to symptoms, I had the works with my entire body from my scalp to my toes being affected. I felt sick ALL of the time and kept spontaneously retching. On one occasion I sat in the GP’s office retching violently into a cardboard bowl. She said I had a gastric bug but I’d been retching for the past three years (just not in public) so if it was a gastric bug then I was breaking some kind of record! Another time I was walking down the street and retched so hard I actually vomited over myself.

Barfing, not dancing, in the street.

My weight dropped into the 7 stone range and my muscles were starting to waste. I was starting to look like Skeletor, only less sexy..

My bowels woke me up at 4-5am with a ‘MOVE IT OR YOU’LL SHIT THE BED’ cramping in my lower regions. I’d also wake in the early hours shaking violently, not that it woke OH. Nothing short of the house blowing up would have roused him from his coma..

I couldn’t tolerate drugs, even painkillers. Come to think of it, even vitamins gave me gyp.

Palpitations? Don’t start me.

My mouth was sore but with no visible cause because I checked via a dental mirror NUMEROUS times. Yes, REALLY! You do things like this when you are mentally ill, see. You spend hours inspecting yourself and prodding your poo. Dignified, no?

I had test after test but all came back clear.

‘All those doctors can’t be wrong, Sweetie’, OH said.

‘They just haven’t found the cancer yet dearie.’ countered Fear.

By far, the most debilitating symptom was the feeling that I was losing my mind..

My grip on reality can be iffy at the best of times but this was in a different realm completely. I struggled to go out or be on my own. My stims became more noticeable and I had no control over them at all. My rocking went from my usual subtle movement to virtually falling off the chair-rocking and my lips were sore from frantically picking the skin off them.  I couldn’t see a way out and in my worst moment I actually wanted to be sectioned.

Yep, you read that right. I wanted to be thrown in the big house where they could put me to bye-byes and be there for me 24/7. I understand now just how poorly I was and If I hadn’t have turned myself around when I did, I may not have had any choice in the matter..

I threw everything at getting better. I did relaxation and yoga. I cut out sugar, caffeine, alcohol, gluten etc but none of it helped for long because I wasn’t accepting how I felt. I was fighting Fear ALL the way..

The breakthrough came when I was told I would have to have a colonoscopy. I was SO convinced I was coffing it that I accepted my fate AND all those weird and unwonderful sensations. I told myself to enjoy what time I had left because Fear could eff right off if it thought it could rob me of that too. With support from OH and a few good friends, including one who’s had a breakdown of his own, I began to see blue sky even in the shadow of my imagined death.

Beautiful Blue Sky

I stuffed food into my mouth and didn’t dwell on how crap it made me feel. I lived alongside Fear and accepted whatever it threw at me. What had I got to lose?

I started to put weight on and my tummy started to rumble again. I FELT HUNGRY!!

I told myself constantly that ‘whatever happens to me. I am here, NOW’.

Then my bum got invaded courtesy of the NHS, and everything was fine. I wasn’t dying (HURRAH) but I had to face the fact that I was mentally ill..

My weight is now back up to 8 and a half stone and my heart isn’t pounding all the time. The anxiety will always be there but I’m not in crisis anymore. I have taken steps to help myself, the biggest and most important being ACCEPTANCE.

There were many times when depression tangoed with the anxiety and I thought I would slip further into insanity but my mind is stronger than I could ever have imagined. It’s healing itself, especially now I understand that magic word, acceptance.

So, yeah, I went to the cafe alone. It was a GINORMOUS step and I’m PROUD of me. I know that recovery is a long process and there will be setbacks along the way but that’s ALL they will be because I’ve accepted fear for what it is.

We need fear. It stops us from being reckless but fear should work for us, not the other way around. That jumped up little git needs to know it’s place, innit.

If you are reading this and are struggling with mental illness, know that you CAN get better. It’s your thoughts that have put you where you are and it’s your thoughts that will set you free.

Yours, mentally

ACCEPT

 All Images Via Creative Commons

20 thoughts on “Yours Mentally

  1. Anxiety can be so dibelitating, I know been there with social anxiety and know how you feel. I had a ‘breakdown’ during second yr of uni due to all the changes and stress/anxiety. It takes a lot to come through so you have such an achievement. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As always I really enjoy reading your posts. Uncomfortable reading though it is because I hate to think of someone going through that, especially someone I feel slightly connected to because of the blogs. Thank had for OH though.
    With your writing though I wonder if you thought about actually writing a book about your experiences as your use of humour and descriptions always make me chuckle 😊
    However with poor being prodded in the book, you might get away with pop up buck can I advise against scratch and sniff

    Liked by 1 person

      • I find it really cathartic. I’ve written a couple and out them on Amazon, don’t worry I’m not advertising 😊 and in them are characters based on people I like and people I don’t like. When I was writing it, I put some of the characters I don’t like through some real shit when I was having a bad day. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooh, might check those out when I’ve trawled through my ‘to read’ list lol. I can’t write fiction. I am deeply envious of those who can. Things have to have happened for me to write about them. Yes, it is cathartic and it’s cheap. 😉

        Like

      • Haha. Keep drinking tea, eating cake and putting on weight, keep getting better and healing yourself, we don’t want to lose that wit of yours or the blogosphere will be any.place without it 🙃

        Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks lovely, that’s the funny thing about it..the moment I allowed myself to accept how I felt, I started to feel better so acceptance seems to be the key, as many people who have recovered from mental illness do say. Love you too dear lady Xx

      Like

  3. Since having my own mental health issues, the one thing I now appreciate more than anything is just how important, nigh imperative it is for people to share their experiences. To put down in words what others will no doubt be feeling. To let them know they’re not alone in feeling the way they do.

    Much of what you write I can totally relate to. And that which I can’t I’m at least beginning to garner an understanding of, which can only be a good thing.

    Well done for going into that café! I’ve set myself some similar goals and I’ll be using your experience as the kick up the arse I need to see them through 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Mark, mental illness is debilitating and it can be a long way back from exhaustion, ie, breakdown but it’s possible. All those who have recovered keep saying the same thing..accept. That’s all I did differently and it’s like a light went on. I found comfort in people’s success stories. I hope mine, which is still work in progress, helps other people too.Also, I want people to understand that there is no shame in having a mental illness. It can happen to any one of us at any time. Keep going forwards. 🙂

      Like

  4. Thank goodness you are heading in the right direction Tracy, putting your head inside the cafe rather than your head down the loo or in a bowl is a huge jump that you should be congratulated on 👏🏼
    Mental illness is just a few steps around the corner for EVERYONE, nobody knows what will be the staw that breaks the camels back for them personally.
    The images that the words ‘mental health’ hold are kinda freaky but unless you are at the stage of head banging without listening to music, you have no idea if someone is dealing or has dealt with ‘mental issues’…….🙋🏼 I have and I’m not ashamed, it was totally beyond my control. No it’s not a ‘pull yourself together’ issue, it’s so deep and debilitating and going into a deep sleep never to wake up seems such a comforting thought.
    Today I’m ok…..tomorrow who knows…..but what I can say is to be able to communicate with friends like you really helps 😍
    Big loves 😘💞xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

